Best soba in NYC: cold dipping noodles and hot bowls
A chilled noodle plate, hot broth and a richer dipping soup are different ways to order soba. Compare the menu’s noodle description, toppings and price.
Look at the noodles, the broth and what is included in the order.
Hot and cold menu examples
Restaurant prices and user scores
Food photographs and individual maps
The buckwheat question
A soba name alone does not state the flour blend. Sobaya explicitly lists a limited Juwari Soba made with 100% buckwheat, offered cold. Other orders need their own ingredient check.
Choose a cold plate or hot bowl first, then compare whether tempura, duck or other toppings come with it. A menu’s H and C labels can be more useful than the photograph when choosing the serving temperature.
No matches. Clear the search to see every restaurant.
The Thursday special is $5 below the limited juwari plate, but they are different products. Choose juwari for the 100% buckwheat noodle itself; choose the $24 mini lunch set for noodles plus a rice bowl and side dishes.
The $28 juwari offer is cold-only and limited; ask staff before assuming it is available.Lunch sets are dine-in offers from noon to 3pm.The hot and cold noodle choices in the lunch set do not automatically mean 100% buckwheat.
The cold-soba size choice is unusually explicit: 100g, 200g or 300g with no change to the $12.50 price. Order the size you will finish. The $28.50 gozen is a multi-dish tray rather than just a larger noodle bowl.
The official menu expressly says the soba contains buckwheat and wheat flour and is not gluten-free.Open daily noon-9pm according to the official location details.Reservations are listed only for parties of six or more on weekdays; walk-ins welcome. Automatic 20% gratuity for six or more.
Mori SobaPlain cold soba. The menu lists 100g, 200g and 300g at the same price.
Official restaurant menu. Checked October 25, 2026. Prices before tax, tips and delivery fees. Check this menu ↗
What visitors mention
A November 2025 diner praised delicate tempura and found the medium soba size sufficient.
Keep in mind
The same diner found the broth milder than preferred and called the 300g large portion substantial. Another public comment disliked mushy rice and soft fried sides.
A cold towari plate costs $35, while duck shio is $47. The duck order uses hot broth; the salmon-ikura dish uses cold matcha soba. Choose the preparation and topping together when comparing the prices.
The current menu is marked 100% gluten-free; discuss individual allergies with staff before ordering.Cold and hot soba have distinct topping combinations.The official site lists Monday-Saturday 11:45am-9:30pm and Sunday until 8:30pm.
Towari SobaCold soba with vegetables and premium dashi; vegan option marked.
$35.00
Duck Shio SobaHot duck broth with three duck preparations, greens and yuzu.
$47.00
Salmon Ikura SobaCold matcha soba, raw salmon, salmon roe and premium dashi.
$45.00
Uzuki Soba SaladCold noodles with vegetables, tofu, soba chips and sesame dressing.
$34.00
Official restaurant menu. Checked October 25, 2026. Prices before tax, tips and delivery fees. Check this menu ↗
What visitors mention
Diners praise the hand-made ceramic setting and the freshness of salmon ikura soba.
Keep in mind
An August 2026 diner reported a long wait and lukewarm duck soba, while enjoying the cold salmon bowl. Several comments regard it as a higher-cost meal.
Zaru plus tempura totals $31, while the plain zaru is $16. The $21 soba salad dresses the noodles; zaru leaves sauce separate. These are useful texture and portion-format choices before adding a full multicourse meal.
Official hours: weekday lunch 11:30am-2:30pm; Monday-Saturday dinner 5:30-10pm; closed Sunday.The menu names ni-hachi soba, which combines buckwheat and wheat flour.Ask about room charges before reserving a tatami room. The regular dining room and specialist counters are separate seating choices.
Zaru SobaCold soba with dipping sauce, wasabi and green onion.
$16.00
Original Soba SaladCold soba with vegetables and house dressing.
$21.00
Zaru Soba with shrimp and vegetable tempuraThe $16 zaru plus the $15 tempura add-on.
$31.00
Tantan TsukemenCold soba with spicy sesame dipping broth; marked vegan on the official menu.
$30.00
Official restaurant menu. Checked October 25, 2026. Prices before tax, tips and delivery fees. Check this menu ↗
What visitors mention
Guests praise attentive staff, careful presentation and a quieter room suited to conversation.
Keep in mind
Some Restaurant Week diners found the set-menu portions small; that criticism concerns the prix fixe meal, not a measured soba portion. A private-room guest also reported a separate room charge.
Assorted tempura adds four seasonal vegetables for $2 above the two-shrimp option. Four soba stacks cost $28 and a fifth adds $6. The menu gives the stack count without a noodle weight.
Formerly Soba Totto; the current restaurant name is Izakaya Futago.The restaurant describes ni-hachi soba, made with buckwheat and wheat flour.The quoted prices come from the soba lunch page; dinner and other sets have separate menus.Official site: lunch Monday-Friday noon-2:30pm; dinner daily, with earlier weekend closing.
Ebi Tempura SobaTwo shrimp tempura; hot or cold soba.
$26.00
Assorted Tempura SobaTwo shrimp and four seasonal vegetables; hot or cold soba.
$28.00
Mushroom Tempura SobaMaitake mushroom tempura; hot or cold soba.
$23.00
Four-stack SobaFour stacked soba servings; weight not specified.
$28.00
Official soba lunch menu. Checked October 25, 2026. Prices before tax, tips and delivery fees. Check this menu ↗
What visitors mention
Guests praise friendly, helpful staff and a broad menu for mixed groups.
Keep in mind
Some diners find value uneven. An August 2026 diner liked the service but felt the meal was too expensive for the result; another July diner found several dishes underseasoned or oily.
Item prices in USD. The menu channel is identified in each restaurant card. Tax, tips and delivery charges are separate unless the menu states otherwise.
Hot or cold: check H/C labels and the description. A cold noodle plate may come with a separate dipping sauce or broth.
Flour blend: ask about the particular noodle. An explicitly labelled 100% buckwheat option is different from assuming every soba order uses the same ingredients.
Included toppings: a plain noodle price and a tempura or duck order do not represent the same meal.
Sets: check whether lunch includes a small rice bowl or side. Compare the whole set price with a standalone order.
Soba questions
Is every soba noodle made only from buckwheat?
Do not assume that from the name. Sobaya specifically labels its Juwari Soba 100% buckwheat; check the restaurant’s description for other noodles. Sauce and preparation need separate questions if ingredients matter.
Can I order soba hot?
Yes. Several menus list hot broth dishes as well as cold noodles. Choose the actual named order and its temperature rather than assuming soba is always chilled.
How does soba differ from udon?
The cited soba menus describe buckwheat noodle formats, while udon is a thick wheat-noodle format. Serving temperature and toppings can overlap. Our udon guide compares that separate order.
Buckwheat option and H/C menu labels: Sobaya menu.